LicenseTo Carry A Handgun In Texas


Do you know anybody interested in getting a License To Carry (LTC) A Handgun?  If so, now is the time!  The Gun Club conducts basic classes.  Don't wait any longer.  Do something you 've wanted to do for a long time!

Does your LTC expire soon?  You can renew your license no more than 6 months before your license expires.  DPS will send you a renewal notice approximately 3 months before your LTC expires.  You can complete the renewal process on-line by going to the DPS website (see below). If your license expires for more than one year, you will have to take the basic course again.  See the DPS Handgun Licensing page below for up-to-date information about renewals. Contact Training for class information.

Information Regarding LTC:

 For more LTC information see the "Frequently Asked Questions" section below.

From Chapter 46 of the Texas Penal Code (and other sources)
 

With one exception, effective 1 January 2016, if you have an LTC you may now carry openly whereever you could previously carry concealed.
The exception is that while you may carry concealed on the campus of a College or University, you may not carry openly at those locations.

Be on the watch for the following two signs


1. Texas Department of Public Safety
2.
Handgun Licensing

Why should I get an LTC?

LTC Frequently Asked Questions
Handgun License Reports & Statistics
LTC Classes Starting Soon
Texas LTC Reciprocity Agreements
Texas Gun Laws 
Other State's Handgun Carry Laws
 


Top of page

Send Comments/Suggestions to the Webmaster